Home - HomeschoolMath.net      IXL math practice
You are here: HomeCurriculum reviews → CLE

Christian Light Education math program, also called "Sunrise Math"

Grades: K-12      Christian Light Publications

Christian Light Education (CLE) is a complete Bible-based curriculum. Their math program is called "Sunrise Mathematics".

The CLE program is based on a series of work-texts. Students work at their own pace often completing a single LightUnit in 3 weeks. There are ten LightUnits per grade level.

Pricing: Grades 1 - 3 are $33.00 per grade for a set of ten math worktexts plus $14.00 for a set of ten answer keys (comes in a set of 2 books with five in each. $7.00 per book). Grades 4 - 8 ten math worktexts for $33.00 and two answer keys for $6.60. The answer keys are not required.


Add a review


Reviews of CLE Sunrise Math

Sonlight 300-310 & 400-410
Time: 1 year

Your situation: I brought my son Joshua home from public school because he was failing 3rd grade math and they were still going to pass him on to fourth grade math. He also had very remedial writing and reading comprehension skills.

Why you liked/didn't like the curriculum: The reason I love Christian Light publications educational materials is because it allows the child to learn each lesson at their own pace. They can return to material if they're not certain of it. You are always capable of reaching in and helping them on a certain area or core materials or lesson. Halfway through our first year the public school asked to evaluate my son, due to him formerly having an i.e.p and having been diagnosed as having Aspergers. They wanted to make sure that he had what he needed to be learning. I was extremely surprised my son had gone from failing 3rd grade math to by their calculations being able to start fifth grade math if you re entered in the current year. He had surpassed his classmates and have only been in my care and under the tutelage of Christian Light for 6 months

Any other helpful hints: The key to this math program is for the child to read the directions and to do the Mad Minutes for each lesson. and that's exactly what Christian light Teaches.

Tonia Spencer
Review left February 4, 2013
Time: 4 years

Your situation: Homeschooling 5 children grades 1-10

Why you liked/didn't like the book: CLE's Light Unit format is a nice pace program and very convenient for the busy homeschool mother. It is similar to ACE's pace in the sense that the child can work at their on pace, although it is divided into definite lessons. It is similar to Saxon in the sense that it teaches in a spiral learning approach.
In my state I am required to submit a portfolio of each of my child's school work for the year. Using CLE makes this task very simple and thorough because each Light Unit contains 2 quizzes and 1 Test. I submit these into the portfolio which gives my evaluator and school district a clear understanding of what my child learned.
Accedemically it is very good. My children score high on achievement tests. It is more advanced than Rod and Staff. Teaching it requires some input from Mom especially in 1st grade, however, the instructions in the Units to the children are very easy for children to grasp. It teaches little increments at a time. A very good plus.

Any other helpful hints: I have found in my experience it did not work well with 2 of my older children. One child did much better with Teaching Textbooks due to the easier work load.
As you approach the older grades, the work load does get heavier, but is very good.
I did find, however, whenever I used it in first grade, ALL of my children seemed to revert to figuring with their fingers. I am thinking it is because they simply teach new facts by memorizing. I have found using the AL abacus approach helpful in trying to break them of this habit.

Kellee Strunk
Review left March 31, 2012
Time: 2 years

Your situation: I have one 2nd grader and one 1st grader.

Why you liked/didn't like the book: I love this curriculum. There isn't a lot of work involved for the parent, it is very easy for the children to follow, very well organized, does not require all kinds of manipulatives, all you need is the 10 workbooks and the teacher manual. This programs gives a great math foundation. My son used to do Saxon math but we stopped mid-way because he really disliked Saxon math. The paper was such poor quality and it was so boring. This curriculum has good quality paper, there are drawings but not very colorful. My sons love it and so do I!

Any other helpful hints: You won't regret it. You may never want to use anything else.

Alana
Review left October 11, 2011
Time: 2 years
Your situation:
We tried A LOT of different math programs. The two we really love are Rod and Staff and Christian Light Math. They are both traditional, solid, and WILL get the task done and DONE WELL! We chose to use Christian Light because we like the workbook format and it makes our school day a lot easier when the students (who are working ahead of grade level) do not have to write everything out. Unfortunately, starting with grade 3 Rod and Staff they are no longer in a workbook format.

Why you liked/didn't like the book:
We like that the lessons are short and to the point. Things are reviewed but it continuously builds upon past learning. There is no twaddle in these books. Everything is very traditional and solid which is what we were looking for in a curriculum. We plan on continuing with this curriculum.

Any other helpful hints:
-It doesn't have a lot of color and some families really look for colorful books.

-There is a LOT of fact review and drills. Not all students will need this but it is a plus and it would be hard to imagine a child coming away from this course and not be solid with math facts.

-You don't have to be Christian to use, benefit, and/or enjoy this program. We aren't and it has not caused any problems for us at all.

-It is very economical. Since the courses are divided into several workbooks, you can only buy a couple at a time as it fits your budget.

-The fact that it is divided into multiple workbooks of about 17 lessons each is a plus for some families. I know that our children feel very accomplished as they finished each workbook and get to begin the next one.

S. Othman
Review left November 20, 2010
Time: 8 years
We have multiple children and so using CLP math has been great. My oldest did not do well rewriting all the math problems so having a workbook that was thin and doable helped a lot. Once they are in 5th grade I have them do the work on paper so we can reuse the program with my younger ones. It has been a great program for our family.

Why you liked/didn't like the book:
There really is not much for a teacher's manuel for the upper grades. There is not always a lot of explanation if you don't get it the first time.

Amy
Review left May 11, 2010
Time: 1 year
our situation:
My ds was behind in math. I tried using two different math programs that didn't work for us. I needed something that he could sit down to do on his own and yet one that I knew would cover precept upon precept. My son (9-10 years old this school year) didn't even know how to subtract on paper, let alone divide or multiply!

I decided to use the Christian Light Math and purchased 1st through 4th grade. Sounds crazy, I know...but really it was wonderful. I went over grade 1 and grade 2 orally. We skipped a lot of things that he understood but covered everything. When he mastered something, we skipped that too. By December he had made it to grade 3. We've slowed down some and he has enjoyed being able to write in the workbooks. It's the beginning of August now and he is almost caught up. He will get a whole month off and he is so pleased with it. I offered to stop for the summer, but he wants to have it done so he can be at the 5th grade level for the new school year. One lesson a day will be a cake walk for my hard working son! As a reward for his hard work, we will be going to an amusement park for the day! He is so excited! And the 1st grade books that I purchased will be used by my daughter THIS year! I'm looking forward to teaching her now and using a math curriculum that I feel confident about!

Yes, it was a lot of math, but it has paid off. I love that it is a spiral type math curriculum. The review is excellent. I especially love their flashcard system. It is so thorough and changes day by day with an easy to follow guide to use. I also like the daily speed drills in the back of the workbooks. The little stories and facts add to the pleasure and learning in this math curriculum. I've heard my ds repeat things he has learned.

The teacher's manuals are helpful in setting up math visuals to "bring home" a math lesson. IE...measuring out different cup sizes, etc. It tells you exactly what to do.

Any other helpful hints:
It's my understanding that if you purchase the light units and want the teacher's manual, you do not need to also purchase the answer keys. The answers will be in the manual. Their customer service people are really helpful if you have any questions.

Tina Robinson
Review left August 1, 2009
Time: 4 months
I'm a mother of 8 kids without a lot of time for a tedious, time-consuming math curric. requiring the purchase of several manipulatives to go along with it. At the beginning of the school year, my 2 first graders were using two different currics. one of which was MCP. I was rather unsatisfied with MCP because it was mostly just boring drill, day after day, and my son didn't enjoy it. I have a 9th grader who is enrolled in CLP's high school program, and my 7th grader was already using Sunrise math, so I decided to look into it for my 1st and 5th graders.I ended up purchasing just a couple books for each grade just so we could see how it would work out for them. I have been so delighted with the workbooks, that I don't think I will ever want to use anything else.

There really isn't anything I don't like about these books. They are wonderful! My children are learning so much, and without me having to work with them very much. I have been most pleased with the outcome of my 1st graders using these books. It is a spiral type math curric., like Saxon, but my children actually like it, which I could not say for Saxon math. There is not a huge amount of instruction involved in the lessons, and the children enjoy the content. Each math lesson is full of review so the children build confidence in their abilities. The workbooks have a very child-friendly format which is not too dull, but not too overly stimulating either. They are perfect for my kids, and I wish I had started using them sooner. One other plus is that you can buy these workbooks individually through CLE. They are only about $3 each, and the teaching books are very inexpensive as well. I highly recommend this math curriculum. If you use it, your kids WILL learn math!

Heidi L
Review left May 2, 2009
Time 7 years
Your situation:
Homeschooled ds until done. Currently schooling Other People's Kids.

I love CLE math! It is built in an incremental spiral, somewhat like Saxon math, but in a workbook and with clearer explanations. Lessons are clearly marked, so you know exactly how much to do each day. Each lesson has mental math exercises (with flash cards in the lower levels) and speed drills. Even first graders can soon work fairly independently.

I like that the quizzes and tests are regularly spaced (lesson 5, lesson 10, and unit test at the end) and at predictable intervals. In the TM, there are Alternate Unit Tests, just in case the student didn't quite pass the one in the unit.

It's not colorful, but I haven't had any student ever complain about this! It's printed in two-color process, on high quality paper that stands up well to erasing. It's very cost-effective!

Any other helpful hints:
At present, only the first, second and third grade TMs have reduced-size student pages with answers imprinted. From fourth grade on up, the TMs give only helpful teaching tips, along with indices and the Alternate Tests, and separate answer keys must be purchased. However, the company has decided now that as supplies of these TMs run out, they will be reprinted with reduced size student pages with answers imprinted.

Linda McCoy
Review left July 4, 2008
Time 5 months
Your situation:
Homeschooling 4 children in grades 1,4,6, and 9.

I used Christian Light Education in grade 1. I really like this math curriculum, and wish my sons in grade 4 & 6 were using it. It has enough work, but not too much. It is a workbook format so the child does not have to write out the math problems. That is a big thing around here. 10 Light units equal one grade's work. The curriculum keeps reviewing topics so the child doesn't forget them. This also helps to keep it interesting. I would highly consider looking into Christian Light Education Sunrise Math. I have used Bob Jones, Mastering Mathematics and Rod and Staff. This is the best!

Any other helpful hints:
You can purchase this as you need it. Also, they have a diagnostic/placement test which shows you the holes in the child's math skills. You can just purchase a light unit to review the skill as well.

Ann Foutch

Christian Light Education math program reviews from HomeschoolReviews.com

Go back to homeschool mathematics curricula list



Practice makes perfect. Practice math at IXL.com

Practice makes perfect. Practice math at IXL.com



Free math worksheets and practice - Adapted Mind